“Bay mayn shokhn iz do ales” Performed by Leo Summergrad

 

Commentary by Itzik Gottesman

Bay mayn shokhn iz do ales (My Neighbor Has It All) is another item from a recording from the 1950s that Leo Summergrad made of songs he remembered. He recounts that this one was taught to him by his cousin.

yungvarg-new1

Illustration from the IWO/Arbeter-ordn  Yiddish children’s journal Yungvarg, NYC

Bay mayn shokhn iz do ales
My Neighbor Has It All.

Bay may shokhn iz do ales
Frishe broyt un vayse khales.
Un bay mir es fayft der dales
Un es shimlen alte kales.

Hay-da hay-da hay-da hay-da

Mayn shokhn iz a yung, a srore
Un er hot tsvey hentlekh klore.
Un bay mir iz kayn ayn-hore
Vu an umglik, vu a tsore.

Hay-da hay-da hay-da hay-da

Mayn shokhn iz a yung, a golyes.
Un er shpilt di greste rolyes.
Nor bay mir iz viste dolyes,
Kh’es nor teyglekh mit fasolyes.

Hay-da hay-da hay-da hay-da

Nor s’vel kumen naye tsaytn.
Mit mayn skhokhn vel ikh zikh baytn.
Oyf zayn kark vel ikh onraytn
Un in flamen in di zaytn.

Ay-da hay-da hay-da hay-da

My neighbor has it all.
Fresh bread and white challahs,
While I suffer great poverty
And  have old maids that turn rotten.

Ay-da hay-da hay-da hay-da

My neighbor is a youth, a nobleman
And he has two pure hands.
While I, no evil-eye,
Have only misfortunes and troubles.

Ay-da hay-da hay-da hay-da

My neighbor is a youth, a Goliath
And he plays the greatest roles [puts on an act].
While I have a sad lot –
Eating dough balls and beans.

Hay-da hay-da hay-da hay-da

But new times will come.
I will switch with my neighbor.
On his neck I will ride
And thrash him in his ribs

Hay-da hay-da hay-da hay-da

shokhn1shokhn2shokhn3

5 Responses to ““Bay mayn shokhn iz do ales” Performed by Leo Summergrad”

  1. Leo Summergrad Says:

    Sorry, but I have to make two corrections.

    1. In the third stanza, the word should be “viste” instead of “itztert”.
    2 The last line’s translation should be, “And thrash him in his ribs”.

    • Thanks Leo– we’ll make the corrections!

    • Janina Wurbs Says:

      I don’t quite get the last two lines, especially the last one. Leo, do you sing “oyf zayn kark vel ikh ton raytn” (mitn “ton” shtot “on-“)? And the last one: “un im flamen in di zaytn” – so “flamen” is the verb, and that’s what “I” will do to him (“im”, not “in”?)? Mit a dank in foroys for clarifying!

  2. Itzik Gottesman Says:

    Should be “Un im flamen in di zaytn”. Thanks to Dovid Braun for the correction. It makes more sense now.

    • Leo Summergrad Says:

      Janina, this doesn’t need any further clarification. Both you and Dovid did so. When I sent in my corrections, I failed to notice the”in” that should have been “im”.

Leave a Reply

